Blog 5 COMPOSITION – Perspective of 12

JaleneStradling_PerspectiveCollage

For this project I chose to use a camera from my camera collection. I chose to use the Kodak Duaflex IV Camera.  I was lucky enough to inherit all of my grandparents old cameras right before my grandfather passed away.  They were in the process of moving and I came across all these cameras that they were trying to sell at a yard sale.  I asked my grandpa if I could have them if they didn’t sell.  At the end of the day I got a box full of vintage cameras that mean so much to me.  I love thinking about all the images that this camera took in its former life and wanted to capture the different perspectives of this camera.

I wanted to edit these pictures with a vintage feel.  I edited them with photoshop by adjusting the levels of the pictures and sharpening the focal points of the images.  I then added a faded action to make them look slightly vintage.  Some of the pictures I added a “red plaster” texture to the image and then changed the overlays to enhance different parts of the pictures I added them too. I used overlays like multiply, overlay, and hue. I used the same texture for different images I added it to.

These are my favorite images from the collage.

JaleneStradling_P6 JaleneStradling_P7

JaleneStradling_P11 JaleneStradling_P12

JaleneStradling_P1

JaleneStradling_P8

JaleneStradling_P9

I had a lot of fun taking these pictures and remembering my grandpa. I love vintage things and especially my camera collection since they are a family heirloom.

JaleneStradling_P10     JaleneStradling_P5 JaleneStradling_P4 JaleneStradling_P3 JaleneStradling_P2

This was the texture that I used: http://www.textures.com/download/plastercoloured0313/59020

PlasterColoured0313_3_M

 

6 thoughts on “Blog 5 COMPOSITION – Perspective of 12

  1. Jalene, all of your photos look really cool. I love the red texture that you applied to them. They all look really vintage, which makes a lot of sense when shooting a vintage camera. How cool that you got to keep all your grandpa’s old cameras! What a way to connect to him.
    Paige did a good job of shooting her husband’s car. Here is the link to her blog if you want to check it out: https://paigebrowncomm.wordpress.com/2016/02/03/week-5-composition-perspective-of-12/

    Like

Leave a comment